Capital Girl

Preppy separates get a modern update on the streets of London. This Sloane Ranger is the bees-knees!


Picture / Babiche Martens.

TOP OF THE POPS (above)
Big Ben looming in the background provides a breathtaking view for an evening stroll in a spiffing full skirt and pretty pearls.

Zambesi wool-blend blazer, $1115, worn over Penny Sage silk cotton top $260. Kate Sylvester wool-blend skirt $345. Pearl necklace, $269, from Pascoes. Lola and Grace earrings, $79, and rings from $60. Citizen watch with leather strap, $225, from Stewart Dawsons. 18ct white gold diamond tennis bracelet, $8990, from Walker & Hall

Picture / Babiche Martens.

KEEPING UP APPEARANCES
A camel coat and pair of loafers are essential to a classic weekend look. Bonus points for the Daily Telegraph and a piping hot Earl Grey on the go.

Twenty-seven Names jeans $350, and sweater $280. Juliette Hogan silk shirt $399. Penny Sage wool nylon coat $860. 9ct gold fob chain, $2399, from Walker and Hall. 9ct gold earrings, $219, from Stewart Dawsons. The New Zealand Sock Company socks $20. Church’s loafers, about $683, from Net-a-Porter.

Picture / Babiche Martens.

MADE IN CHELSEA
Pounding the pavement in leather and lace, this It Girl knows how to turn heads.

Gucci leather lace-up dress $9045. Karen Walker leather boots $590. Levante hosiery $39. Citizen watch with leather strap, $225, from Stewart Dawsons.

Picture / Babiche Martens.

PARKLIFE
A high collar is the epitome of prim and proper while this intricately woven Louis Vuitton number is a modern take on a Sloane classic.

Louis Vuitton embroidered dress, $9650, Epi leather ‘Twist’ bag, $5600, and disc earrings $1360. Beauty note: Toni&Guy hairstylist Rachel Bartlett uses Toni&Guy Volume Plumping Mousse, Flexible Hold hairspray and Rough Texturiser to achieve this polished hair look.

Picture / Babiche Martens.

WET YOUR WHISTLE
The only pub on Sloane St since 1795, The Gloucester is a charming place to unwind and watch the world go by…
with a pint and a packet of crisps, of course.

Karen Walker jacket $495. Citizen watch with leather strap, $225, from Stewart Dawsons

Jennifer Behr silk satin headband, about $374, from Liberty.

Picture / Babiche Martens.

LONDON CALLING
One impeccably dressed woman flanked by two London darlings, a double decker and a red phone booth. Swoon!

Ruby wool viscose coat $399. Icebreaker wool-blend sweater $270. Seed Heritage viscose-blend pants $179.90. Deadly Ponies rubber bag $395. 9ct gold earrings, $219, from Stewart Dawsons.

Picture / Babiche Martens.

NEWS OF THE WORLD
Nadine looks at home at The Map House in Knightsbridge, a treasure trove of maps, globes and historical prints. Opened in 1907, the antiquarian map-seller counts collectors, motorists, aviators, prime ministers and the royal family as some of its loyal patronage.

Kate Sylvester jumper, $365, Liam skivvy, $139, Kate Sylvester skirt, $385, Karen Walker leather belt, $55, and a 9ct sovereign gold coin pendant, $2199, from Stewart Dawsons.


Photographer: Babiche Martens
Fashion Editor: Dan Ahwa
Hair: Rachel Bartlett for Toni & Guy
Makeup: Kiekie Stanners for M.A.C Cosmetics
Model: Nadine Martin from Elite Models London.
Photographer’s Assistant: Tracey Hosey. With thanks to Zoe Walker, Anna Lee, The Map House and The Gloucester. The Viva team flew to London with Toni&Guy.

 

STOCKISTS: Deadly Ponies deadlyponies.com, Gucci (09) 368 1138, Juliette Hogan juliettehogan.com, Karen Walker karenwalker.com, Kate Sylvester katesylvester.com, Liam rubynz.com, Liberty liberty.co.uk, Lola & Grace lolaandgrace.com, Louis Vuitton 0800 586 966, Net-a-Porter net-a-porter.com, Penny Sage pennysage.com, Ruby rubynz.com, Pascoes pascoes.co.nz, Seed Heritage seedheritage.com, Smith & Caugheys smithandcaugheys.co.nz, Stewart Dawsons stewartdawsons.co.nz, The New Zealand Sock Company nzsock.co.nz, Twenty Seven-Names twentysevennames.co.nz, Walker & Hall walkerandhall.co.nz, Zambesi zambesi.co.nz

 

View more from Viva's Insiders' Guide to London brought to you by Toni&Guy

Share this:

From the Archive

New Zealand Herald

New Zealand Herald

Subscribe to E-Newsletter